Free, indeed.

Wow, June has turned out to be quite a month so far! Amidst travelling to and from Edmond, OK and Austin, TX, balancing work at BBBS, helping plan a 90th birthday celebration for my great grandma, volunteering for BBBS events, scheduling various last minute doctor’s appointments (don’t worry, I’m fine), and still trying to find free time (where in the world has it gone???), God has continually reminded me of the significance of his grace and how much he has blessed my life, despite my inclination to get caught up in the chaos of life rather than to stop and enjoy it for what it is- another day to seek the Lord, humble myself to be used by the Lord in whatever way he deems fit, and be joyful in the life the Lord has given me, regardless of whether I am in a time of struggle or triumph. Specifically, God has reminded me of how blessed I am to be alive, be healthy, be able to still be active despite the limitations my back places on me at times, have an amazing family, have such a wonderful group of friends (and boyfriend), have a job (especially one that I love), have a roof over my head, have food to eat, and so on…

Something that’s been laid on my heart for a while, and especially lately as my church wrapped up their sermon series on Galatians, is, in my inclination to get wrapped up in the busyness of life, the performance oriented nature that typically goes with that, and my own perfectionist mentality, how completely and 100% false it is to think that anything I achieve or accomplish adds me any favor in front of the Lord. To be completely blunt, anything I do on my own is pointless if I’m doing it with the motive to “fix myself up” before the Lord or to be in “right standing” before the Lord.

Paul speaks of this in the first chapter of Galatians when he says “I am astonished that you are so quickly deserting him who called you in the grace of Christ and are turning to a different gospel— not that there is another one, but there are some who trouble you and want to distort the gospel of Christ” (verses 6 and 7).

How do we, as humans, distort the gospel? By thinking it is anything other than what it is- that God sent his son Jesus as a sacrifice to bear the consequence of our sins (death) so that we would all be forgiven and seen as blameless/without sin before the Lord, through faith in Jesus Christ. “Yet we know that a person is not justifiedby works of the law but through faith in Jesus Christ, so we also have believed in Christ Jesus, in order to be justified by faith in Christ and not by works of the law, because by works of the law no one will be justified.” (Gal. 2:16) We are justified, or declared innocent, before the Lord through this, and this alone.

So should I try to live in obedience to God? Of course, and this is what God desires. But what is my motive for this? To have the approval of those around me, to be seen as a good person, or for me to “find favor” in front of the Lord? OR, should my motive for obedience be because I love him, and want my life to be a reflection of that love? Daily I should take on an attitude of humility and count my life not as my own, but a life of service to the Lord to carry out his will through me- because he has shown the greatest act of love through his death on the cross, because his resurrection shows that he is fully God (the one and only) and cannot be overcome, because I’ve professed my faith in him, and because as a professed follower of God I need/want to follow where he leads.

“I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. I do not nullify the grace of God, for if righteousnesswere through the law, then Christ died for no purpose.” (Gal. 2:20-21)

“For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of slavery.” (Gal. 5:1)

Through his death and resurrection, Christ has given us the chance to be set free! Through God’s grace, he opened my heart that I was able to see this truth and find this freedom in him, and I pray that you too have already found this, or will find it.

“But far be it from me to boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.” (Gal 6:14)

I have nothing to boast about in myself- I can only boast in the cross of my Lord, for through Him I have found purpose, life, freedom, hope, the truth, and joy. Amen.

Love you all so very much,
Lyndsey

P.S.- Thank you Todd for giving me “the gift of time” for my birthday. This morning I was able to enjoy this wonderful coffee you gave me and find some time to write. Such an enjoyable time of peace and relaxation.

About lyndsmichelle

Young at heart. Laughs at everything. Breaks out into song or dance when it just feels right. Very clumsy & accident prone. Smiles excessively. Loves giving hugs. Saved by grace.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment